Getting off the Ropes

Last week I failed as a writer.

Last week, half my family was sick. My son had a birthday, there were meetings, hangouts, my job, my husbands jobs, school stuff, church stuff… yada, yada, yada. All wonderful things and all exhausting. To add a little nuts to my life sundae I signed up for NaNoWriMo this month (which I ‘m loving, by the way) but when you have a week like I had there was no way in H-E- double hockey sticks that I was going to make my daily word count. And I didn’t.

Getting off the Ropes

This week I needed a pick me up. I needed a side rink, squirt in the mouth, slap in the face, ‘you can do this’ moment. So, in case you need a pick me up too, here’s some quotes that helped me get off the ropes. And some just made me laugh.

Thank you, Goodreads.


 “If you have any young friends who aspire to become writers, the second greatest favor you can do them is to present them with copies of The Elements of Style. The first greatest, of course, is to shoot them now, while they’re happy.”

― Dorothy Parker, The Collected Dorothy Parker

“Never annoy an inspirational author or you will become the poison in her pen and the villian in every one of her books.” ― Shannon L. Alder

 

“I have a pesky little critic in the back of my mind. He’s a permanent fixture and passes judgment on everything I write.

In order to placate him, especially when I’m endeavoring to write anything as ambitious as a novel, I have to constantly mutter, ‘I’m not writing a masterpiece, I’m not writing a masterpiece.’

This mantra lulls him into a kind of stupor so that he pays no attention to what I’m doing, because after all, I’m not claiming it’s any good. Slowly, and secretly, one page at a time, I write my story.

I know I’ve succeeded when he grudgingly admits, ‘That’s pretty good.’ And if I’m lucky, every once in a while, I blow him away.”
― Rukhsana Khan

 

“i want to never settle for anything less than my soul on paper.” ― Jonathan Culver

 

“Authors write books for one, and only one, reason: because we like to torture people.” ― Brandon Sanderson, Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians

 

“they say that girls are the ones who want fairy tail endings, but then again, who are the authors of fairy tales? mostly men…” ― Alina Radoi

 

“Publishing a book is like being pregnant. By the end, you’re just ready to get that baby out!”
― Carmen DeSousa

 

“Authors: The only people you thank for leaving you emotionally devastated.” ― Love The Stacks Bookstore

 

“If you have a dream, don’t just sit there. Gather courage to believe that you can succeed and leave no stone unturned to make it a reality.”
― Roopleen

 


 

What quotes inspire you? Comment Below.

 

Like Writing? Like This Post? Follow Me 🙂

6 thoughts on “Getting off the Ropes

  1. Love it! First of all, thank you for sharing my quote. And believe me, I understand. But can I just say…you didn’t fail as a writer last week, and to prove it to you, I will offer you another quote, as I’m sure that while you were busy, your mind was still creating. Sometimes we use that time for our brains to build. Hope you like this quote, as it’s one of my favorites. 🙂

    “A writer never has a vacation. For a writer, life consists of either writing or thinking about writing.” — Eugene Ionesco

    If you’re interested, here are two posts I thought you might like: http://www.carmendesousa.com/2014/03/you-must-make-time-to-write-amwriting.html and http://www.carmendesousa.com/2014/07/holidays-and-using-your-emotional.html

    Like

    • Thanks for the pep talk, Carmen. And thanks for having such a great quote! How could I not use it? 🙂

      I love the quote you put here too. It’s true – I was still writing in my head (even had a picture book idea pop in my head one night while I couldn’t sleep – can’t wait to start writing it!).

      Thanks again for your comment. I’ll be sure to check out your posts!

      Like

      • That’s what I thought. Our brains never turn off ‘writing mode’, so you really didn’t lose time. And how cool that you came up with another idea. I like to keep a digital notebook for those thoughts. I have a great app that syncs on all my devices. 🙂

        Like

  2. I love Dr. Suess quotes. Here’s a few I’m fond of:

    “I like nonsense, it wakes up the brain cells. Fantasy is a necessary ingredient in living, it’s a way of looking at life through the wrong end of a telescope. Which is what I do, and that enables you to laugh at life’s realities.” – Dr. Seuss

    “Think left and think right and think low and think high. Oh, the thinks you can think up if only you try!” – Dr. Seuss

    “You’re never too old, too wacky, too wild, to pick up a book and read to a child.” – Dr. Seuss

    Like

Tell me what you think

