Your Book Bucket List

Book Bucket list

Do you have a book bucket list? I do – well, did. Proud to say I checked all those puppies off. Which is sadly not as big of a feat as it might sound since I was 11 or 12 when I wrote it (which means it’s a tiny list). Even still, it’s a list full of goodies. Wonder if some of yours are on it. Hmm…

I made my book bucket list because I hated reading until 4th grade. Once I liked reading, I spent 2 year reading whatever fancied me. By 6th grade my reader friends had all read these wonderful classic books under their belts and I hadn’t touched one of them. I wanted to know what the big deal was about this redhead named Anne and why the secret garden was a secret. So… I made a list. My book bucket list.

I’m totally game to let you see it (kind of a strange post if I wasn’t), but will you do me a favor? Promise me you’ll share at least one book on your book bucket list in the comments below? Kid Lit, Adult Lit – Whatever! I find some of my favorite books through other’s recommendations and would love to hear yours. That’s how #7 got added to my list. Recommendations are gold!

Alrighty, enough of my chit chatting, here we go:

BOOK #1 – Anne of Green Gables – by L.M. Montgomery

indexphp_filesanne-of-green-gables_cover

BOOK #2 – Lion, Witch and the Wardrobe – by C.S. Lewis

art.overview.437

BOOK #3 – Bridge to Terabithia – by Katherine Paterson

2839

BOOK #4 – Secret Garden – by Frances Hodgson Burnett

the_secret_garden

BOOK #5 – Number the Stars – by Lois Lowry

number-the-stars-book-cover

BOOK #6 – Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – by Roald Dahl

1939881_orig

BOOK #7-  The Giver – by Lois Lowry

the giver

While I love all of these books for various reasons, three of them had a lasting impact on me.

Anne from Anne of Green Gables taught me that optimism is contagious and that bosom friends do exist (I’ve met a few).

Bridge to Terabithia is one of the most beautiful tragedies I’ve ever read. No child should have to experience loss like that but how amazing to see the resilience of children through the characters in this story. Beautiful.

And, The Giver. Like I said, this one was recommended to me. I don’t think I would have picked it up myself, but I love the world she creates. And her characters are so alive! Man, I hope to write characters like Lois Lowry one day. I also love the ending – that debated, unloved ending. I find it symbolic and perfect, I could ramble on and on. I’ll save it for another post instead.

[Insert deep satisfied sigh]

I.    LOVE.    STORIES.

PERIOD.

Let me read a few of your favorites? Please share your book bucket list below!

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE: “A Spoonful of Sugar? Nah. Just give ’em time.”  

Like Reading? Like this Post? Follow Me 🙂

12 thoughts on “Your Book Bucket List

  1. West With the Night, Beryl Markham…I’ve made sure my daughters read this, and anyone from 12 to 120 can learn from this remarkable woman’s experiences: “…you may remember the valley, but the valley will not remember you.”

    Like

  2. The Candy Shop War by Brandon Mull is on my must read list. I started reading it with the boys, but life apparently took over. Now Ian is reading it aloud with his 4th grade class and loves it!

    I have found I really love the dystopian genre, but I need to branch out. The Giver and The Help are on my to read list (along with countless others). I can’t wait to see other’s recommendations.

    Like

  3. Hmm…recommendations, huh? So many to choose from! If you’re reading for your classroom, I’d say Notes From the Midnight Driver (Jordan Sonnenblick), only because I already recommended it today and the student gave me a “Thumbs up!” Anything by Richard Peck, Kate DiCamillo, or Sharon Creech. If you’re looking for adult reads for you, try Playing for Pizza (John Grisham) if you like sports, or Daybreak (Belva Plain) if you like stories with cool twists!

    Like

  4. I love the idea of a book bucket list. I think I might start one. I will have to get back to you when I have added something on to it but I do like a few of those on your list. I might start there. 🙂

    Like

    • You know, for as familiar as Pippi Longstocking is to me, I have never read the book, or any of Astrid Lindgren’s book for that matter. I’ll have to change that. Thanks for the suggestion!

      Like

Tell me what you think

